Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 4th, 2011

yellow and red nasturtiumIt’s stinking hot here. We have been over 90 degrees every day for almost three weeks now, with hardly any rain at all. The nights are even hot and humid, and it seems that every day, we break another record for high temps. The soaker hoses run every three days, and I’m dragging the hoses to other areas in the yard two or three times a week. My garden is growing ridiculously fast, and comparing photos from this time last year, my plants are twice as big! In addition to all the garden areas, I also have lots and lots of containers. In this weather, I am having to water these containers every. single. day., sometimes twice a day. I’m really hoping it cools down a bit before July and August — we get enough of this type of weather then! I’ve been working so hard that I rarely have time to even read other people’s blogs, and lately, I’ve just been too tired at night to finish a post. I have been taking lots of photos though, and here are some of the containers I have this year. As always, click to view larger.

blue pimpernel
Anagallis monellii (Blue Pimpernel)
I grew these from seed, and just love them! They really are that blue.

Gartenmeister Fuchsia
Gartenmeister Fuchsia
The hummingbirds love this fuchsia.

black petunias
Truly black ‘Phantom’ petunias
Interesting? Eye-catching? Yes. Will I grow this again? No.

supertunia citrus
Supertunia® ‘Citrus’
Such gorgeous soft yellow color on these.

mixed container
Mixed container (clockwise from left):
Sunpatiens, Dark Opal Basil, Profusion Zinnia, Euphorbia Diamond Frost, Alternanthera Grenadine

coleus angeline
Coleus ‘Angeline’

black eyed susan vine
Thunbergia alata Black Eyed Susan Vine, grown from seed

alternanthera
Alternanthera ‘Party Time’

Pelargonium 'Vancouver Centennial'  Pelargonium 'Contrast'
Pelargonium ‘Vancouver Centennial’ and Pelargonium ‘Contrast’
I love both of these fancy-leaved geraniums.

purple and raspberry blast supertunia hanging baskets supertunias
Dark purple petunias and raspberry blast supertunias, hanging baskets, citrus and bubblegum supertunias

mixed containers mixed containers mixed containers on patio
Mixed containers: seed-grown ‘Merlin Rose’ Petunias, Verbena, Dichondra Silver Falls (grown from seed) Wandering Jew–
Verbena, Petunias, Purple Fountain Grass, Intensia Phlox–
Verbena and Dichondra, Wandering Jew

front sidewalk containers shockwave petunia on a stump cuphea matchless
Mixed containers: Front sidewalk, Shockwave petunia on stump, Cuphea ‘Matchless’ (seed-grown)

More to come.

Read Full Post »