Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 12th, 2010

Brunnera Jack FrostWe had another beautiful day here today, and I worked in the Secret Garden, weeding and planting. This flower bed is mostly shady with spots of sun here and there, two fountains, a bench and a birdbath, and lots of stone. It’s a work in progress and I’m constantly changing or adding to it. The narrow stone path leads to the gazebo, with a creekbed on one side. iron birdbath and dwarf evergreenThe front side of this long border faces the driveway and the house, everything else is hidden from view. There are also many little hidden spots in which to plant. I have planted red astilbes and Jack Frost brunneras in here this spring, to go along with the tulips and daffs, heuchera, lily-of-the-valley shrub, blue forget-me-nots, various kinds of hosta, bleeding heart and many dwarf evergreens. I have many caladiums started indoors for this area also and will probably mix in some impatiens and hanging basket begonias. Click on any photo to view a larger version.

secret garden path and creek
Tulips and daffs in the secret garden. (The bed in the background,
surrounding a stump, is new and I haven’t planted much in there yet.)

pathway and creekbed
Lots of stone.

brunnera and bleeding heart
This shows the newly planted little brunnera plants beneath a
bleeding heart. I’m hoping they will grow and thrive here. I left
space between them so I can plant more forget-me-nots here as well.
I love the little blue flowers and think they will make a
good combination with the white and green leaves.

Blooming right now in the Secret Garden:

forget me nots bleeding heart Tahiti Daffodils

another bleeding heart and bumblebee windflowers forget me not and bee
Top Row: Blue Forget-Me-Nots, Bleeding Heart, Tahiti Daffodils
Bottom Row: Another bleeding heart, Windflowers, Forget-Me-Nots and bee

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

Read Full Post »