Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 20th, 2008

For me, tonite’s show was a big disappointment. I wasn’t truly blown away by any of the performances, and after all the hype, it seemed a big letdown to me.

Round 1, Songs Chosen by Clive Davis

David Cook sang “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”, and it was absolutely perfect, a great performance. Randy said it was hot, Paula said he was in great voice tonite, and Simon said it was phenomenal.

David Archuleta sang “Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me”. It was very good, and I liked this better than any of his previous performances. Randy said it was one of the best performances of the season, molten hot, crazy vocals. (Randy is ridiculous.) Paula said it was beautiful and stunningly perfect. Simon said it was the best he had done so far.

Round two, New Song Choice

David Cook sang “Dream Big”. It was a great, rockin’ performance. I liked the song. Randy said the song was just okay, and that his voice made it work. Paula said it was great to take a song we don’t know and make us love it. Simon said the end was okay, he made the most of what he had, but he didn’t feel like it was a winning moment. Simon gave it a 6 and a half out of 10.

David Archuleta sang the sappy “In This Moment”, which is a typical Idol coronation song. The song was boring but he sang it well. Randy said he wasn’t crazy about the song but that David could sing the phone book.. blah blah blah, how many times has he said that this season? Could he be more obvious? In fact, could any of the judges have been more obvious than they were tonite about just who is and always has been the Chosen One this season? But, I digress.. Simon said he loved the egotistical lyric and that Archuleta chose the better song.

Round 3, Contestant’s Choice

David Cook sang “The World I Know”. I think this was a beautiful performance. His voice sounded great. Randy said he did a very nice job. Paula said he delivered unbelievable songs with originality and, “I applaud you”, and then she did. Simon said Cook is one of the nicest and most sincere contestants ever, but that it was completely the wrong song choice tonite, and that David should have sang “Billie Jean”, or “Hello”.

David Archuleta predictably sang “Imagine” again. I missed most of this performance and both Randy and Paula’s comments. (I’m sure I could guess what they said though, so no loss. It was no doubt something along the lines of “molten hot”, “in the zone”, “in it to win it”, “best performance ever!”, etc. etc. etc.) Simon said that Archuleta came out here to win tonite and that we’ve just witnessed a knockout.

I think both David’s had good performances tonite. Who do I think will win? I prefer David Cook by a mile, and he gets all my votes. I still think he deserves the win, he’s shown the most versatility, the best voice, and he is definitely the most current and the most marketable. He’s also the only one I would buy a cd by.

So, what do you think? Who’s going to be the next American Idol?

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

